Uncategorized

Heaps Comics, Issue #1: Beginnings, by by Dale Anderson, Elyce Phillips, James Ward, Josh Chodziesner and Millie Holten

‘Heaps is a hopefully-monthly comic magazine,’ Josh Chodziesner tells me. He is a writer, illustrator, and editor of the magazine at hand.  ‘The point of it originally was that I just wanted to make more comics myself, and also had no ins in the Melbourne comic scene. I just had to kind of start my own.’ Issue one
Uncategorized

How to Be Happy | NBEH #4

I’ve had an excellent week. That’s how the pattern tends to go – excellent week, mediocre week because sustaining excellent-week momentum is hard, bad week because mediocre week was disappointing, excellent week because I’m bouncing back from bad week. No matter where that puts me in the temporal scheme of things, it’s been an excellent
Uncategorized

On Suicide – NBEH #3

TW: Suicide.If you or someone you know is struggling with their mental health, consider the options available to you at Mental Health Australia.If your life is in danger, call 000. I had an interesting experience earlier this year. I think it was during the first lockdown, amidst the throes of the depression that the isolation inevitably
Uncategorized

My Top Shelf

As you may have guessed, I write this newsletter as much to myself as I do to any of you (which doesn’t make me any less grateful for your attention). Equally, you may have guessed from the above content that my own mental health has been in the weeds over the last week or so. Fret not,
Uncategorized

The Blade Itself, by Joe Abercrombie

I finished reading this book – the first in a series called The First Law Trilogy – earlier this week. It’s dark, gritty fantasy, somewhat in the vein of A Song of Ice & Fire. In the introduction, Abercrombie speaks about writing the anti-Lord of the Rings. Tolkien, minus the pomposity. As he puts it: I
Uncategorized

Nothing Bad Ever Happens #2

I’ve had one of those weeks where my input has far outweighed my output. I know that we’re not meant to give ourselves hell for failing to be productive. I still can’t help doing exactly that from time to time. I bought a Vanaboard a little while ago. It’s a habit tracker composed of a small chalkboard,
Uncategorized

Humankind: A Hopeful History, by Rutger Bregman

I can’t recommend this book enough. Rutger Bregman convincingly puts forward the case that human beings are inherently good.   He argues that we have been conditioned  by myriad cultural institutions to believe that humans left to their own devices become bloodthirsty, amoral savages. From the moment we step into this world we are ‘fallen’, we need the confines of
Uncategorized

Nothing Bad Ever Happens #1

How’s your week been? Mine’s been good. It’s my birthday today, which is nice. It’s a real shame not to be able to spend it with my family and friends. That’s what you get for having your birthday in the middle of a pandemic. When this all blows over we should have a big party